Introducing Balkan Bee

August 1, 2015

I met a very cool Croatian girl a while ago. She posted on Couchsurfing asking if people wanted to join her in dumpster diving and I thought that sounded cool and sent her a message. I saw another post from her asking if people wanted to play board games so of course I said yes. I met her at my first Food Not Bombs Toronto serving and we went dumpster diving after. We, along with her friend Anastasiya, found a lot of great stuff – chocolates, fruits, vegetables, yogurt, bread, and more. I invited her to a friend’s gathering where they were probably going to play board games. When we were leaving we saw that she might not have been able to make it to her host’s place before the public transit system shut down so I offered my couch. On the way to my house we went dumpster diving again and found some random stuff – probably 8 packages of hot dogs, pillows, adult diapers, and maxi-pads, among other things. We donated the hot dogs, diapers, and maxi-pads to the Really Really Free Market the next day. She told me a lot of interesting hitchhiking and dumpster diving tips and stories. Apparently, it’s really easy to hitchhike in Turkey and that she hitchhikes alone frequently; the latter sounds all the more difficult when you know that she’s a cute small Croatian girl . In short, she is one serious anarchist and I am amazed by her.

Leave a comment